Ottawa announces 2018 Rookie Tournament squad



OTTAWA – The Ottawa Senators today announced the names of the 27 players who have been invited to take part in a three-team round-robin tournament from Sept. 7 to 9 at Place Bell in Laval, Que. The rookie camp and tournament marks the official launch of the Senators’ pre-season, presented by Canadian Tire. Joining the Senators prospects at the tournament will also be rosters composed of prospects from the Toronto Maple Leafs and host Montreal Canadiens.

The Senators rookies will be led by Troy Mann, head coach of the Belleville Senators, assistant coaches, Paul Boutilier and Ryan Murphy, Ottawa Senators player development coach, Shean Donovan and B-Sens video coach, Tyler May. Ottawa’s hockey staff will also be in Laval for the tournament.

Ottawa’s 2018 rookie team is composed of three goaltenders, nine defencemen and 15 forwards (roster available below). Eleven (11) players were drafted by the Senators, one was obtained via trade, six were signed as free agents while nine players will be participating under tryout agreements.

Seven of the invited players appeared in American Hockey League action last season (each of whom did so with the Belleville Senators). Defencemen Christian Jaros and Christian Wolanin, in addition to forwards Logan Brown, Filip Chlapik, Alex Formenton and Colin White each saw playing time with Ottawa in 2017-18. In doing so, all but White made their respective NHL debuts.

The Senators rookie team, which is composed of three first-round NHL draft picks – White (21st, 2015), Brown (11th, 2016) and Brady Tkachuk (4th, 2018) – is scheduled to officially begin this year’s camp, which is being presented by Sport Chek (@SportChek), with a morning practice at the Bell Sensplex on Thursday, Sept. 6, ahead of departing for the tournament.

The Senators’ 2018 rookie tournament roster:

Goaltenders: Filip Gustavsson (LuleĆ„ – SHL, Belleville – AHL), Jordan Hollett (Medicine Hat – WHL), Kevin Mandolese (Cape Breton – QMJHL).

Defencemen: Jonathan Aspirot (Moncton – QMJHL), Charles-Edouard D’Astous (Rimouski – QMJHL), Macoy Erkamps (Brampton – ECHL, Belleville – AHL), Christian Jaros (Belleville – AHL, Ottawa – NHL), Maxime Lajoie (Brampton – ECHL, Belleville – AHL), Brady Lyle (North Bay – OHL, Owen Sound – OHL), Nicolas Mattinen (Flint – OHL, Hamilton – OHL), Chase Stewart (Rimouski – QMJHL), Christian Wolanin (North Dakota – NCHC, Ottawa – NHL).

Forwards: Drake Batherson (Cape Breton – QMJHL, Blainville-Boisbriand – QMJHL), Logan Brown (Windsor – OHL, Kitchener – OHL, Ottawa – NHL), Luka Burzan (Moose Jaw – WHL, Brandon – WHL), Filip Chlapik (Belleville – AHL, Ottawa – NHL), Alex Formenton (London – OHL, Belleville – AHL, Ottawa – NHL), Parker Kelly (Prince Albert – WHL, Belleville – AHL), Boston Leier (Acadia – AUS, Belleville – AHL), Aaron Luchuk (Windsor – OHL, Barrie – OHL), Robert Lynch (Drummondville – QMJHL), Gregor MacLeod (Charlottetown – QMJHL, Quebec – QMJHL), Ryan Scarfo (Union – ECAC, Belleville – AHL), Jordan Stallard (Prince Albert – WHL), Andrew Sturtz (Penn State – Big-10, Belleville – AHL), Brady Tkachuk (Boston University – H-East), Colin White (Belleville – AHL, Ottawa – NHL).

2018 rookie tournament schedule at Laval’s Place Bell:

Friday, Sept. 7: Montreal vs. Ottawa, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 8: Ottawa vs. Toronto, 3 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 9: Montreal vs. Toronto, 3 p.m.

The Senators have participated in 17 rookie tournaments since their first appearance in 1999. The team most recently participated in a rookie tournament last September which was held in Toronto. Ottawa won the tournament in earning an undefeated 2-0-0 record: a 8-2 win over Montreal on Sept. 9 and a 4-3 shootout win over Toronto in the tournament finale on Sept. 10, 2017.

Since the first tournament in 1999, past rookie team rosters have included the following notable participants who have also played for the Senators: Cody Ceci (2013), Thomas Chabot (2015, 2016, 2017), Nick Foligno (2007), Andrew Hammond (2013, 2014), Erik Karlsson (2009), Chris Neil (1999), Jean-Gabriel Pageau (2011, 2013), Jason Spezza (2001, 2002), Zack Smith (2008, 2009), Mark Stone (2010, 2011, 2013) and Mika Zibanejad (2011).

More News
Gendron appreciative of Senators' loyalty
16 hours ago
Senators head-to-head history
4 days ago
Five highlights of the Sens' 2019-20 schedule
1 week ago
Senators unveil 2019-20 schedule
1 week ago
Belleville signs Dougherty to AHL deal
1 week ago
BGH Foundation fundraising making a difference in the community
1 week ago